top of page


A New Way Home

  1. Sandy Boys – Traditional

  2. The Lover’s Dream - © Susan Vinson Sherlock

  3. Canaan Land – Traditional

  4. Wagoner’s Lad – Traditional

  5. If I Needed You – Townes Van Zandt

  6. Vladimir’s Steamboat – Jay Ungar

  7. Shadows - © Susan Vinson Sherlock

  8. Billy in the Low Ground/Whiskey Before Breakfast – Traditional

  9. Daddy’s Gift – © Susan Vinson Sherlock

  10. After the Rain - © Susan Vinson Sherlock

This project was made possible by the North Carolina Arts Council, a state agency, the Blumenthal Endowment, and the arts councils of Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Rutherford, and York (SC) counties.

Recorded and mixed at

Woody’s Studio,

151 E. White St,

Rock Hill SC 29730


Canaan Land and

If I Needed You

recorded at

Flat 5 Studio,

18 East Main St,

Salem VA 24153

Mastered at

Studio B Mastering

821 Louise Avenue,

Charlotte NC 28204


Cover design by

Oasis Manufacturing

7905 N Crescent Boulevard,

Delair NJ 08110

Under the Winter Moon

  1. Under the Winter Moon

  2. Cherry Tree

  3. Drive the Cold Winter Away/Blessed Be That Maid Marie

  4. Il est Ne'/Les Anges Dans Campagnes

  5. I Wonder as I Wander

  6. Lashana Haba'a/Tantz, Tantz, Yidelekh

  7. Come Before Winter

  8. In the Bleak Midwinter

  9. Greensleeves

  10. Snowshoes/Snowflake Reel

  11. Gesu Bambino

  12. Christ Child Lullaby/Away in a Manger

  13. Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence

Featuring Susan on hammered dulcimer with guests Albert Dulin on fiddles, mandolin, bouzouki; Dan Bright on guitar, concertina; Henry Trexler on bass; John Trexler on clarinet.


  1. Merriweather

  2. Garden Cafe'

  3. Willie's

  4. Erev Shel Shoshanim

  5. North Carolina Breakdown

  6. Wateree/Tennessee Waltz

  7. Planxty Irwin

  8. Quantz Minuet

  9. Sherlock's Hornpipe/Johnston's Hornpipe

  10. Childgrove

  11. Hangman's Rope/Home Ruler

  12. Margaret Ann Robertson

  13. Coleman's March

Susan's solo recording Wateree was released June 2001 and features traditional American, international folk and original tunes. Joining her are Albert Dulin (fiddles, mandolin), Ken Kolodner (fiddle, hammered dulcimer), Dan Bright (fiddle), and Fred McKinney (guitar).


25 Years of the Charlotte Folk Society

I am proud to be a part of the Charlotte Folk Society's 25th anniversary year CD. It is available for $15 at Folk Society events, or you can order it at the following link. Listen to samples; Buy the CD!. Thanks CFS for all you do to keep the music, stories and crafts alive! 

Pepple in a Pond

I was honored to contribute music for this documentary about the Charlotte Folk Society, “Pebble in a Pond”. This program debuted on WTVI on November 22, 2010 and has aired many times since. Marilyn Meacham Price truly tossed a "pebble in a pond" when she founded the Charlotte Folk (Music) Society in 1982, and the ripples continue ever outward. Supported and nurtured by a succession of volunteers, the organization has not only achieved its mission, but also created a very special community in the process. You can purchase this DVD and read more: here.

Entertaining Angels

Interfaith Hospitality Network of York County helps homeless families resume and maintain self-sufficiency. IHN provides meals, shelter, support services and life skills training for homeless parents and children through coordination with area churches, social services agencies and volunteers. “Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it.” Hebrews 13:2 The CD, produced as a public service by Doghouse Studios, a division of Woody's Music.

bottom of page